August Birthstone: Sardonyx or Carnelian

August Flower: Poppy or Gladiolus

Saturday August 1 Kooskia Days features fiddlers and a parade. International Food and Culture Festival today at Julia Davis Park in Boise.

Monday August 3 Owyhee County Fair and Rodeo this week at Homedale.

Thursday August 6 Last Quarter. Planting by the Moon: do no planting during the Moon’s last quarter. Instead, clean up the garden, kill weeds and insect pests.

Friday August 7 Sun Valley Center Arts and Crafts Festival this weekend in Ketchum.

Friday August 14 New Moon. V-J Day (Victory in Japan). Huckleberry Festival today through Sunday in Donnelly. Planting by the Moon: during the Moon’s first quarter, plant leaf vegetables like lettuce and other vegetables growing above ground that have seeds that are not eaten.

Saturday August 15 Payette Lakes Art and Craft Fair today and Sunday at Fairway Park, McCall.

Tuesday August 18 Caldwell Night Rodeo tonight through Saturday.

Friday August 21 Western Idaho Fair starts today, runs through August 30.

Saturday August 22 First Quarter. Planting by the Moon: during the Moon’s second quarter, plant vegetables in which the seeds can be eaten: beans, tomatoes, peppers and squash.

Saturday August 29 Full “Red” Moon. Eastern Idaho State Fair begins today, continues through September 5. Planting by the Moon: during the Moon’s third quarter, plant root crops like turnips, potatoes, beets and carrots.

Comments are closed.